'All That You Can't Leave Behind' song lyrics by U2

'All That You Can't Leave Behind' album song lyrics by U2

Following the muddled experiment that was Pop (that's not to say it lacked good songs!), U2 returned to their 'classic' sound of bass, drums and guitar for All That You Can't Leave Behind.

This approach to songwriting won many U2 fans back and the album becoming their most successful in over a decade, selling over 12 million copies and winning a truck load of Grammy awards.

The album represents a lyrical journey that blends introspection, social commentary, and a return to the more straightforward rock roots that first brought the band into the limelight. The album, coming after the more experimental phases of the 1990s, can be seen as a reflection on life’s essentials – the things that truly matter and that we carry with us. The lyrics throughout the album are imbued with a sense of maturity, a contemplation of life’s deeper meanings, and a reconnection with their core values.

'All That You Can't Leave Behind' album song lyrics by U2.

Following the 911 attacks in America, the lyrics of the songs took on new meaning for many American U2 fans which contribute to the album's success.

U2's All That You Cant Leave Behind Lyrics 

1. "Beautiful Day"
2. "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of"
3. "Elevation"
4. "Walk On"
5. "Kite"
6. "In a Little While"
7. "Wild Honey"
8. "Peace on Earth"
9. "When I Look at the World"
10. "New York"
11. "Grace"

UK, Australia and Japan bonus track

12. "The Ground Beneath Her Feet"

The album's opening track, "Beautiful Day," sets the tone with its optimistic outlook. The lyrics encourage finding beauty and hope in the midst of chaos and adversity, reflecting a theme of resilience and the ability to see the silver lining in every situation. This song, like much of the album, is a reminder of the power of perspective and the importance of appreciating life's simple pleasures.

In contrast, "Stuck in a Moment You Can't Get Out Of," inspired by the suicide of INXS frontman Michael Hutchence, deals with themes of regret and the pain of loss. The song acts as a hypothetical argument with a friend who's in a dark place, urging them to realize that their current struggles are not the defining moment of their life. It reflects the album's overarching theme of moving forward and finding redemption.

"Kite," another notable track, is laden with metaphors about change, loss, and letting go. It is often interpreted as Bono's reflection on his own mortality and the eventual need to let go of his children as they grow up. This song, like others on the album, balances personal introspection with universal themes, resonating with listeners at different stages of life.

"Walk On," dedicated to Aung San Suu Kyi and her struggle for freedom in Myanmar, is an anthem of perseverance and courage in the face of injustice. The lyrics, "You're packing a suitcase for a place none of us has been/A place that has to be believed to be seen," speak to the journey of faith and the belief in a better future, echoing the album's motif of hope and resilience.

In summary, "All That You Can't Leave Behind" stands out in U2's discography for its lyrical clarity and thematic depth. The album navigates through personal introspection, existential musings, and social commentary, all while maintaining a sense of optimism and forward motion. The lyrics encapsulate a period of reflection and reconnection for the band, offering insights that are both deeply personal and universally applicable.

No comments: