U2 'Songs of Surrender' album track list and lyrics

U2 have announced Songs of Surrender, an album which revisits and reworked and recorded songs both older and more recent - covering the entire rage of their catalogue. 

Some of the songs feature reworked lyrics by Bono. He said while promoting his Stories of Surrender novel "I have sometimes been rewriting some of the lyrics. During lockdown, we were able to reimagine forty U2 tracks for the Songs of Surrender collection, which gave me a chance to live inside those songs again as I wrote this memoir. It also meant I could deal with something that’s been nagging me for some time. The lyrics on a few songs that I’ve always felt were never quite written. They are now. (I think.)"

songs of surrender lyrics

Track List for Songs of Surrender by U2

“Out of Control” – U2 (From Boy)
“Stories for Boys” – U2 (From Boy)
“I Will Follow” – U2 (From Boy)
“11 O’Clock Tick Tock” – U2 (Non-Album Single)
“Two Hearts Beat as One” – U2 (From War)
“Sunday Bloody Sunday” – U2 (From War)
“40” – U2 (From War)
“Bad” – U2 (From The Unforgettable Fire)
“Pride (In the Name of Love)” – U2 (From The Unforgettable Fire)
“Where the Streets Have No Name” – U2 (From The Joshua Tree)
“I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” – U2 (From The Joshua Tree)
“With or Without You” – U2 (From The Joshua Tree)
“Red Hill Mining Town” – U2 (From The Joshua Tree)
“Desire” – U2 (From Rattle and Hum)
“All I Want is You” – U2 (From Rattle and Hum)
“One” – U2 (From Achtung Baby)
“Until the End of the World” – U2 (From Achtung Baby)
“The Fly” – U2 (From Achtung Baby)
Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses” – U2 (From Achtung Baby)
“Stay (Faraway, So Close!)” – U2 (From Zooropa)
“Dirty Day” – U2 (From Zooropa)
“If God Will Send His Angels” – U2 (From Pop)
“Beautiful Day” – U2 (From All That You Can’t Leave Behind)
“Walk On” – U2 (From All That You Can’t Leave Behind)
“Peace on Earth” – U2 (From All That You Can’t Leave Behind)
Electrical Storm” – U2 (Non-Album Single)
“Stuck in a Moment You Can’t Get Out Of” – U2 (From All That You Can’t Leave Behind)
“Vertigo” – U2 (From How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb)
“Sometimes You Can’t Make it On Your Own” – U2 (From How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb)
“Crumbs from Your Table” – U2 (From How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb)
“Miracle Drug” – U2 (From How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb)
Invisible” – U2 (Non-Album Single)
“Ordinary Love” – U2 (Non-Album Single)
“The Miracle (Of Joey Ramone)” – U2 (From Songs of Innocence)
Song for Someone” – U2 (From Songs of Innocence)
Every Breaking Wave” – U2 (From Songs of Innocence)
“Cedarwood Road” – U2 (From Songs of Innocence)
“The Little Things that Give You Away” – U2 (From Songs of Experience)
“Lights of Home” – U2 (From Songs of Experience)
Get Out of Your Own Way” – U2 (From Songs of Experience)

In a moment of keeping it real for the U2 fans, guitarist The Edge sent out letters - a key paragraph describes U2's intent with this album:

"Music allows you to time travel and so we started to imagine what it would be like to bring these songs back with us to the present day and give them the benefit or otherwise, of a 21st century re-imagining. What started as an experiment quickly became a personal obsession as so many early U2 songs yielded to a new interpretation. Intimacy replaced post-punk urgency. New keys. New chords. New tempos and new lyrics arrived. It turns out that a great song is kind of indestructible. Once we surrendered our reverence for the original version each song started to open up to a new authentic voice of this time, of the people we are, and particularly the singer Bono has become. … I hope you like our new direction.”

No comments: