Drunk Chicken America Lyrics U2 Ginsberg

U2's Zooropa album song lyrics

Zooropa album lyrics by U2

I think Zooropa was the first U2 album I ever bought.

I vaguely recall having heard Numb on what was then called 93 FM and thinking it sounded pretty cool. Then on a trip later to Taupo with my Dad and brothers I saw a poster with all the song titles on it and it looked awesome and dangerous unlike say the Roxette album we listened to on the way to Taupo.

Soon after I bought the album and my musical journey with U2 began.

Anyways you didn't come here for the memories of a teenager, you came for the lyrics of Zooropa, a Grammy award winning album that featured a monotoned The Edge, an amazing vocal track by the late and great Johnny Cash and some fantastic Brian Eno keyboard magic on Lemon.

Zooropa was a quick companion piece of sorts to Achtung Baby. Lyrically, Zooropa expanded on many of the Achtung Baby tours' themes of media over-saturation, technology, and of course love.

U2's Zooropa lyrics:

1. "Zooropa"
2. "Babyface"
3. "Numb" (The Edge on lead vocal)
4. "Lemon"
5. "Stay (Faraway, So Close!)"
6. "Daddy's Gonna Pay for Your Crashed Car"
7. "Some Days Are Better Than Others"
8. "The First Time"
9. "Dirty Day"
10. "The Wanderer"

Extra for Experts

Hold Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me, Thrill Me was also written during the recording sessions for Zooropa, however it was considered to different from the other songs to warrant a place on the album and somehow it found its way onto the Batman Forever movie soundtrack.

Achtung Baby Lyrics by U2

Achtung Baby Lyrics by U2

Achtung Baby is U2's crowning glory, their master piece that no band since 1991 has bettered, it is a modern day classic. Following the perhaps inevitable backlash against U2's Rattle and Hum, U2's sound on the album was unlike anything the band had ever produced before.

U2's previous records such as War and The Joshua Tree made lyrical statements about political and social issues. Bono's lyrics for Achtung Baby a realised a more personal and introspective which examined love, sexuality, spirituality, faith, and even betrayal with Until The End of the World being an obvious example.

U2's lyrics for Achtung Baby

"Zoo Station"          

Rattle and Hum album lyrics by U2

Rattle and Hum album lyrics by U2

Rattle and Hum album lyrics by U2

Following on from the mega selling The Joshua Tree was seen as a tough act to follow - U2 were nearly up to the challenge with Rattle and Hum, an album with some killer songs like All I Want Is You and God Part II but as a whole it didn't quite have the same magic as The Joshua Tree.

That said the album produced plenty of hits of U2 and songs from Rattle and Hum still feature in most U2 concert set lists.

The album was intended to be a tribute to some musical legends and took a bluesy turn with Desire featuring a Bo Diddley inspired riff being played on Desire, blues maestro BB King featuring his own guitar work on Love Comes To Town and lyrics evoking memories of jazz legends Billie Holiday and Miles Davis and even John Lennon.

The album title, Rattle and Hum, is taken from a lyric from U2's own "Bullet the Blue Sky"

Rattle and Hum Lyrics


The Unforgettable Fire lyrics by U2

'The Unforgettable Fire' album lyrics by U2

'The Unforgettable Fire' album lyrics by U2

The Unforgettable Fire was U2's fourth album.

With a more ambient or abstract sound than War, U2's new producers Daniel Lanois and Brian Eno helped deliver an album with lyrics that referenced heroin addiction, Martin Luther King, atomic bombs and Elvis.

The Unforgettable Fire Lyrics

1. "A Sort of Homecoming"
2. "Pride (In the Name of Love)"
3. "Wire"
4. "The Unforgettable Fire"
5. "Promenade"
6. "4th of July" 
7. "Bad"
8. "Indian Summer Sky"
9. "Elvis Presley and America"
10. "MLK"

Disappearing Act was a song that was released for the re-issue of The Unforgettable Fire in 2009.

October Lyrics by U2

October album cover U2
October was U2's follow up to their debut album Boy. Produced again by Steve Lillywhite, it was a more polished effort but did not win over as many critics as the first album. The track Gloria has proved to be a song that has stood the test of time and as the title of that song suggests, October's lyrics were of a heavily spiritual nature and they were all written by Bono.

October Lyrics:

1. Gloria
2. I Fall Down
3. I Threw A Brick Through A Window
4. Rejoice
5. Fire
6. Tomorrow
7. October
8. With A Shout
9. Stranger In A Strange Land
10. Scarlet
11. Is That All?

Fun Fact: October is the least selling of all the U2 albums. Even Pop sold more.....

Boy lyrics by U2


Here's the lyrics to U2's Boy album. Released on October 20, 1980 it was produced by Steve Lillywhite who would go on to produce several U2 works.

Common lyrical themes among the album's songs are the thoughts and frustrations of adolescence which is not surprising as U2 were just a bunch of 20 something Irish lads when Boy came out!

Boy is probably best known for is classic tracks "I Will Follow" and The Electric Co.

Boy Lyrics:

1. "I Will Follow"
2. "Twilight"
3. "An Cat Dubh"
4. "Into the Heart"
5. "Out of Control"

Side two

1. "Stories for Boys"
2. "The Ocean"
3. "A Day Without Me"
4. "Another Time, Another Place"
5. "The Electric Co."
6. "Shadows and Tall Trees"

A question often asked about the album is, who is the boy on the cover? The answer is Peter Rowen. He went on to become a photographer.